

Issue #103, July 2018

An Official Accompaniment to the Alberta Drug Benefit List (ADBL) produced by Alberta Blue Cross

The Expert Committee on Drug Evaluation and Therapeutics (ECDET)

EXPERT COMMITTEE MEMBERS:

Scott Klarenbach, MD, MSc (Health Econ), FRCPC, (Chair)
Fiona Clement, PhD, (Vice-Chair)
Caitlin Clarke, BScPhm, PharmD
Margaret Gray, BSP, FCSHP
Mike Kolber, BSc, MD, CCFP, MSc
Naeem Ladhani, BScPharm
Tony Nickonchuk, BScPharm
Glen J. Pearson, BScPhm, PharmD, FCSHP, FCCS
Jeremy Slobodan, BSP
Donna Woloschuk, BSP, PharmD, M.Ed. FCSHP

ALBERTA HEALTH LIAISON:

Chad Mitchell, BSc Pharm, MSc

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SCIENTIFIC SUPPORT:

Amanda Chung, BSc (Pharm) Sherry Dieleman, BSc (Pharm), MSc Connie Lussier, BSP, MA Darcia Wasarab-Rolland, BSc (Pham)

In this issue:

- Brief Summary of Drug Review Activities
- Highlights of:
 - Products Originally Reviewed via the CDR
 - ❖ Drug Products Added
 - Expedited Interchangeable Drug Products Added
- Special Authorization Criteria Changes
- Changes in Listing Status
- Non-Innovator Policy Review

Brief Summary of Drug Review Activities

The Expert Committee on Drug Evaluation and Therapeutics met on May 14 and 15, 2018. The Committee reviewed Manufacturer submissions for fifteen (15) Drug Products for potential listing, or change in listing, on the *ADBL*. The Committee also considered information for a number of supplementary assessments of the coverage status of nine (9) Drug Products.

In addition to Drug Products reviewed by the Expert Committee, nineteen (9) Drug Products underwent Expedited Review for listing on the *ADBL* effective June 1, 2018, and eight (8) Drug Products underwent Expedited Review for listing on the *ADBL* effective July 1, 2018.

The following are <u>highlights</u> of recent changes to the *ADBL* and other topics of general interest. A complete list of changes, as well as the full *ADBL* may be accessed at https://www.ab.bluecross.ca/dbl/publications.html

Highlights of Products Originally Reviewed via the Common Drug Review (CDR)

The following Drug Products were reviewed by CDR and the Expert Committee and added to the *ADBL* effective June 1, 2018:

- COSENTYX* (secukinumab) (NOV) 150 mg/mL injection via Special Authorization (SA) for the indications of Ankylosing Spondylitis and Psoriatic Arthritis
- MICTORYL PEDIATRIC* (propiverine hydrochloride) (DUI) 5 mg tablet as a Restricted Benefit
- REPATHA* (evolocumab) (AMG) 140 mg/mL autoinjector & 120 mg/mL automated mini-doser injection cartridge via SA
- TALTZ* (ixekizumab) (LIL) 80 mg/mL autoinjector & injection syringe via SA

The following Drug Product was reviewed by CDR and the Expert Committee and added to the *ADBL* via SA effective July 1, 2018:

 GLATECT* (glatiramer acetate) (PMS) 20 mg/mL injection syringe

A complete list of changes, as well as the full ADBL may be accessed at https://www.ab.bluecross.ca/dbl/publications.html. *Please refer to the current ADBL for explanations of coverage, including a listing of coverage criteria (where applicable).*

ABC 81171 (07/2018)

Highlights of Drug Products Added

The following Line Extension Drug Products were reviewed by the Expert Committee and added to the *ADBL* via SA effective July 1, 2018:

- CUBICIN RF* (daptomycin) (CUB) 500 mg/vial injection
- INVEGA TRINZA* (paliperidone palmitate) (JAI) 175 mg/0.875 mL, 263 mg/1.315 mL, 350 mg/1.75 mL & 525 mg/2.625 mL injection syringes

Highlights of Expedited Interchangeable (IC) Drug Products Added

Addition of the following Expedited Entry IC Drug Products to the *ADBL* has resulted in the creation of New IC Groupings, effective June 1, 2018:

- APO-ARIPIPRAZOLE* (aripiprazole)
 (APX) 2 mg & 5 mg tablets listed via Restricted Benefit and 10 mg, 15 mg, 20 mg & 30 mg tablets as Regular Benefits
- ACT DEXTROAMPHETAMINE SR*
 (dextroamphetamine sulfate) (APH) 10 mg
 sustained-release capsule
- AURO-ZIPRASIDONE (ziprasidone hydrochloride monohydrate) (AUR) 20 mg, 40 mg, 60 mg & 80 mg capsules

Addition of the following Expedited Entry IC Drug Products to the *ADBL* has resulted in the creation of New IC Groupings, effective July 1, 2018:

- MINT-EPLERENONE* (eplerenone) (MPI)
 25 mg & 50 mg tablets listed via SA
- APO-VARENICLINE* (varenicline tartrate)
 (APX) 0.5 mg & 1 mg tablets listed via

 Restricted Benefit/SA

Special Authorization Criteria Changes

The SA criteria have been revised for the following Drug Product effective June 1, 2018:

• PROLIA* (denosumab) (AMG) 60 mg/mL injection syringe

Changes in Listing Status

The following Drug Products have been changed from listing via Special Authorization to Regular Benefits effective July 1, 2018:

- JAMP-VANCOMYCIN (vancomycin hydrochloride) (JPC) 125 mg
 250 mg capsules
- VANCOCIN (vancomycin hydrochloride) (MLI) 125 mg & 250 mg capsules

Non-Innovator Policy Review

The Non-Innovator Policy of the *ADBL* provides a mechanism by which Multisource Drug Products may seek a listing designation as interchangeable with a Canadian Innovator Reference Product (CIRP) that is not currently listed on the *ADBL* when that CIRP has been identified by the Minister. The Minister may identify a CIRP that has been considered but never listed on the *ADBL* and where the availability of a Multisource Drug Product(s) may now alter the cost effectiveness of the molecule. Through this process, a comprehensive clinical review of the following Drug Products was undertaken by the Expert Committee and this category will be added in the Non-Innovator Policy effective July 1, 2018. Once published, Submissions for Multisource Drug Products for the following non-listed CIRP will be accepted and considered for addition to the *ADBL* as per current Submission and Price Policy Guidelines:

 Lyrica (PREGABALIN) 25 mg, 50 mg, 75 mg, 150 mg & 300 mg capsules